Banoffee pie

Did I mention that I quite like Anna Jones’ book A Modern Way to Eat?

I did?

The obsession continues… Any book that helps me create a pudding that tastes like pudding, which I can eat AND share with Little L deserves a special place in my heart (and my kitchen shelf).

I adapted the recipe to make it completely free from refined sugar, as Anna’s version involves honey and brown sugar. It really was sweet enough, though. The recipe is also gluten free. However it doesn’t taste “free-from”, but rather just tastes like pudding. I got a little bit excited.banoffee collage

I made a smaller version than Anna Jones’ original as there are just the three of us here this weekend. We had two slices each. Yup.

Ok, ok, I might have had a sneaky third, generous slice after Little L’s bedtime. Don’t tell her, though.

Ingredients
Base
  • 40g pecan nuts
  • 35g hazelnuts
  • 60g dried, pitted dates
  • pinch ground ginger
Banana sauce
  • 1 very ripe, mashed banana
  • 60g dried, pitted dates, chopped
  • 70ml water
  • 30g butter (I used salted as I like a slight salty note among sweet flavours)
Topping
  • 1 tin coconut milk, refrigerated
  • cocoa powder for dusting (optional)
The banana-y middle
  • 1 banana
  • juice of 1/2 a lemon
How it’s made
  • Put your coconut milk in the fridge if you haven’t already.
  • Grind up the nuts in blender or food processor until finely chopped. Add the dates and ginger and process until thoroughly pulverised and mixed. This is where Anna Jones adds honey to bring it all together. I left it out.
  • Press the mixture into a 15cm (approx) dish. Because the honey has been left out, it’s far crumblier so really squish it down with the back of a spoon.
  • Make your banana sauce. Add the chopped dates, water and butter to a small pan and stir over a medium heat until the dates are really mushy. Add your mashed banana and stir for another 3-4 minutes. It won’t go that brown, caramelised colour of sauces with sugar, like the original recipe, but the butter and dates do make some magic on the tastebuds.
  • Slice your final banana thinly and dunk the slices in the lemon juice. Arrange them on the base.
  • Cool your banana sauce. Time will do this. Or, if you’re impatient and are cooking on a chilly UK evening, you can take your sauce out into that evening and waft it around your garden. Guess which option I chose.
  • When it’s cool, spread it over the top of the base and sliced banana. Refrigerate.
  • Open your coconut milk and scoop out the solid white stuff. Whip it with a whisk until creamy and refrigerate it for 15-20 minutes before splodging it on top of your pie. Swirl it with a spoon and sift some plain cocoa powder over if you like. Again, I’ve left out honey here from Anna’s recipe, but didn’t miss it at all.
  • Serve and eat.

We found the base was slightly crumbly but it really didn’t matter. We kept it overnight in the fridge and finished it the following afternoon. I’m not sure that it’d keep much longer.

Little L’s verdict?

“Mmmmmmm.” Her daddy was equally impressed, and wouldn’t have guessed that it was so “free-from”.

I was in seventh pudding heaven.

One Comment Add yours

  1. fondufondue says:

    Yum! I can’t believe I can eat this!! I love how being allergic to wheat, rice, and oats can open you up to so many whole, delish foods! Please follow me back, maybe you can be inspired:)
    http://fondufondue.com/

Leave a Reply

