Chocolate avocado mousse

I know, avocados are green and slimy, and chocolate mousse is creamy and delicious. But you might be surprised…

fastfreshfamilyfood: Chocolate and avocado mousse recipe with no refined sugar
What?
  • 2 perfectly ripe avocados (if you have a failsafe way to detect if an avo is ripe before cutting it open, PLEASE tell me about it!)
  • 20 dried dates
  • 150 ml warm water
  • 75g (3/4 cup) cocoa powder
  • Generous sprinkle of freshly grated nutmeg (optional)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence (optional)
How?
  • Soak the dates in the warm water for around 15 minutes (see note below*). Don’t use too hot water otherwise it’ll still be too warm to blend without spoiling the mousse.
  • Peel and dice the avocados and put in a blender with the soaked dates, cocoa, avocados, vanilla and nutmeg if using. I just used nutmeg, but vanilla essence can help emphasise the sweet flavour.
  • Blend thoroughly until smooth, adding extra water if required.
  • Refrigerate or serve straightaway.

Makes 4 generous portions

Little L’s verdict?

“Chocolate mousse is deeeeee-leeeeee-cious. Pleeeease can I have some more?”

A food processor would probably work well for this but I only have a jug blender. I don’t let this put me off, but getting this really smooth and creamy in my blender does entail shaking the jugĀ  like a maniac while it’s blending to get all the bits down onto the blades. Luckily no neighbours overlook my kitchen window.

Maybe I should invest in a food processor one of these years.

I wouldn’t keep this long after making it, due to the avocado. We stuck some in a glass jar in the fridge and it seemed ok the next morning… Chocolate mousse? For breakfast!? More on that later…


 

*Edit: I’ve had a comment from a reader (thanks – you know who you are!) that her dates didn’t soften enough to blend properly. The harder dates might need longer soaking, or even cooking over a low heat to make them mushy enough to blend smoothly.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Skintcooking says:

    On my “to do list” :)

Leave a Reply

